2013

Love Triangle Smack Down #1: The Vampire Diaries – Stefan vs. Damon

Damon_Elena_Stefan_2 As some of you may know, I’m a complete sucker for romance and love triangles. It makes me so happy when I find a book or movie that’s not only epic but truly truly spectacular in that it has good romance as well. Examples of love triangles I absolutely love? Think Pearl Harbor’s Rafe-Evelyn-Danny and The Infernal Devices’ Will-Tessa-Jem. Triangles that literally have you torn and ones that don’t necessarily have a clear winner.

So for my first love triangle smack down, I’d love to analyze (or vent) on television’s most current and beloved love triangle: The Vampire Diaries’ Stefan, Elena and Damon.

The Vampire Diaries (TV Series)

THE VAMPIRE DIARIES is the story of two vampire brothers, obsessed with the same girl, in a small town where supernatural beings live in secret amongst its residents  – CWTV.com

  • Main Attraction: Elena Gilbert is our lovely heroine who’s torn between two brothers, Stefan and Damon Salvatore, while trying to survive the hell-hole that is Mystic Falls, Virginia.
  • Love Interest #1: Stefan Salvatore is the younger of the two Salvatore brothers and is essentially the “good” love interest.
  • Love Interest #2:  Damon Salvatore is our resident bad boy vampire who falls in love with his brother’s gal, Elena Gilbert.

My Thoughts

The Vampire Diaries’ love triangle between Elena, Stefan and Damon is a frustrating piece of work. There are many flaws and many things that both writers and viewers overlook when it comes to the bittersweet history behind all three characters.

There’s no doubt that Damon is winning the popular vote among fans of the show. He’s the dark and mysterious bad boy who doesn’t like to talk about feelings and says and does whatever he wants even if it means killing innocent people. It’s understandable – we see it in the books we read – and like Kevjumba says, “Nice guys finish last.” There’s just something about bad boys we all love and Damon Salvatore is the definition of a bad boy.

Unfortunately, while I am a Damon fan, I am not a Delena fan. In fact, I am rooting for Stefan and Elena for a happy ending (though I doubt that’s going to happen).  Why is this? Because at the end of the day, no matter how much Elena and Damon might deserve each other, Damon and Stefan are still brothers who supposedly care about each other.  So if Damon is really trying to break the barriers of being a bad guy — if his character is truly growing — then why is he trying to steal his brother’s girl for the second time?

That’s the thing. It’s already happened before with Katherine so how in the world did Elena, Damon and Stefan let that happen again? Maybe if Stefan and Damon weren’t brothers or best friends, then I would be rooting for Damon (because I do love his character). But after reading the sacrifices and love between characters like Jem and Will from the Infernal Devices, the whole Damon and Elena together thing in season four just makes me angry. How could they do that to Stefan? Stefan who has saved his brother’s life multiple times, sacrificed himself to keep the girl he loves safe and happy, and still manages to maintain himself when his brother has stolen his girl. We all knew it was bound to happen sooner or later, and when it did, I was reeling at how selfish both Elena and Damon were about it all.

Delena fans are overlooking the fact that what Damon is doing is pretty sleazy. Sure…they’re in love. And that’s fine with me if that’s the direction the writers and producers want to take. But where’s the respect towards Stefan? It’s cruel and a turn off for me, especially if Damon is supposed to be the lead guy. No matter how good-looking and witty the guy is, it’s a douche move to do that to someone who cares about you—especially your brother. Nothing can be more hurtful than your own blood betraying you.

I’m not implying that Damon hasn’t done his fair share of sacrifices when it comes to keeping Stefan and Elena safe. But it is what it is – Stefan was with her first. And the whole Damon meeting Elena first? It doesn’t change a thing. Just because I meet someone first doesn’t meant I get dibs. It doesn’t change the fact that Elena and Stefan fell in love and had meaningful relationship…because seeing and experiencing are two different things. Even if Stefan and Elena’s relationship didn’t work out for other reasons, Damon should have stayed away from it…that’s the noble thing to do because they are brothers. True love or not.

Instead, it seems as if the writers are scrambling to give Damon justice amidst all of the shenanigans. Trying to make viewers sympathize with him. Trying to make everyone be like, “Awwe! that’s so sweet…Damon DOES care for Stefan!” and then forget that Damon Salvatore pretty much sabotaged the only thing that kept his brother happy. However, it will be interesting to see how things work out moving forward. I mean, I think what we loved most about Damon and Elena together was the whole concept of “forbidden love.” It made all the little moments between them more worthwhile.

Nevertheless, Damon and Elena will probably end up together in the end. I’m pretty sure that Stefan has just been an obstacle for Elena and Damon all along. Even now, with Elena supposedly sired to Damon, the writers are still trying to find a way to keep the two apart as if they were truly meant for each other. I just hope that they give Stefan a good end. I want him to leave Mystic Falls with his head held high and not end up with sloppy seconds or worse…watching his brother live happily ever after with the girl he loves.

So Damon or Stefan? I love them both…I truly do. But for this particular storyline – and it might have been the way certain things were set up by the writers—I’m just going to have to say that I prefer Stefan.  I guess it’s safe to say that in the end, there’s no one I can blame but Elena for putting the two brothers in that position. For our sweet and innocent girl, she sure knows how to stir things up for our TVD cast!

So tell me, what’s your take on the Vampire Diaries love triangle?

Photo: Photo as seen on Fanpop

4 thoughts on “Love Triangle Smack Down #1: The Vampire Diaries – Stefan vs. Damon

  1. stefan stefan stefan stefan stefan stefan stefan stefan stefan stefan i think i made myself clear…damon…jk stefan….stelena all the way

  2. When I originally left a comment I appear to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now whenever a comment is added I get 4 emails with the exact same comment.
    Perhaps there is a means you are able to remove me from that service?
    Thanks!

    • Hi! I’m looking into it but can’t seem to find a way. Will let you know if I find anything. Is there a way for you to unsubscribe with the notification email that you get?

Leave a Reply

