2013

Prodigy (Legend #2) by Marie Lu

CoupleKissThe Legend series by Marie Lu has become so much more than I expected since I first picked up the book a year ago. Marie Lu gives us a story of two intelligent and admirable characters from the opposite end of the world. One rich, one poor. One the country’s most wanted criminal, the other the country’s most beloved soldier. And when the two come face to face, Marie Lu gives us a romance that is both enticing and heart wrenching – it’s absolutely enthralling.

If you’re looking for a fast paced, action-packed series that will leave you reeling, then Prodigy is the answer to all your needs.
ProdigyProdigy Summary

June and Day arrive in Vegas just as the unthinkable happens: the Elector Primo dies, and his son Anden takes his place. With the Republic edging closer to chaos, the two join a group of Patriot rebels eager to help Day rescue his brother and offer passage to the Colonies. They have only one request—June and Day must assassinate the new Elector.

It’s their chance to change the nation, to give voice to a people silenced for too long.

But as June realizes this Elector is nothing like his father, she’s haunted by the choice ahead. What if Anden is a new beginning? What if revolution must be more than loss and vengeance, anger and blood—what if the Patriots are wrong?

In this highly-anticipated sequel, Lu delivers a breathtaking thriller with high stakes and cinematic action.

I liked Legend. Not only was it a good read but it was entertaining. Plus, I always love it when we get to read from a guy’s point of view, especially if the character is as interesting as Day. But while I liked Legend, it was Prodigy that made me love the series to an entirely different degree. So much that I can’t stop thinking about it!

Prodigy by Marie Lu picks off where we left off…with Day an escaped convict and June now a traitor to the Republic. I don’t know where people are getting the idea that Day and June have too similar of a voice but I actually find them very different. June is literally brilliant. I love how Marie Lu is able to show us just how smart she is by providing readers with the little details that June notices about her surroundings. It shows how intuitive she really is, which is exactly what we should be seeing in our precious prodigy.

But it’s Day that captures me. I’m a sucker for smart boys with a great sense of humor and Day easily meets the criteria. He’s the people’s savior and he’s adorable in that he’s such a stud. Some of the things that go through his mind literally make me giddy on the spot. Plus, I think it’s super sexy every time he says the word, “cousin.” I’m kind of in love with this Daniel Altan Wing character that Marie Lu has created and it’s ten times better in Prodigy when we get a closer look at his life. In Prodigy, we see a much deeper and more vulnerable side to Day – a great plus when it’s combined with his street face.

Prodigy (actually this entire series) is full of action. We are given such a clearer explanation of the world that Day and June live in and there’s a lot happening from conspiracies, political turmoil and attempted assassinations. Our characters Day and June are at the center of it all which makes this story fascinating. Furthermore, Lu keeps us guessing throughout the entire book when it comes to who June and Day should trust. I seriously flip-flopped a million times.

I was also kind of surprised at how Lu handled Anden’s character. At times I liked him but then again I didn’t. Because seriously…who can really compare when you’ve got Day in the running? But it’s an interesting start and I’m a fan of love triangles so I can’t wait to see what Lu has in store for us. Hopefully some juicy jealousy in addition to everything else that’s heartbreaking about Prodigy. As for Tess: Woah! Did not see that coming. Like Day, I saw her as a little sister so I was shocked when Lu threw her into the pending love triangle to form a love square. But her reaction to Day and June was solid and I found Day’s concern for her warranted. I think their relationship is very admirable in its own way. I just have to wrap my head around it.

Really, my only complaint in all of this is the logic behind Day’s notoriety. I love that he’s the people’s savior (I really do!) but I wish Lu could have showed us why or how Day became so famous in the people’s eyes. He was a one man operation back in Los Angeles and though we are given a few hints of his past crimes, I still don’t know what it is that Day did to win over the people. One second he’s scouring the streets of Lake and the next thing you know, people are laying their lives down for him and streaking their hair. What exactly did he do that made him the country’s most wanted criminal? What did he do to make the people love him so much? Was it because of his execution? Did he play Robin Hood and stole from the rich to give to the poor? I get the gist that Day broke laws in the past but his day-to-day lifestyle in Legend really didn’t show me that side of him. Or maybe Lu just didn’t paint that picture clearly enough in the beginning.

Either way, once you accept this, Prodigy is pretty epic. The best part about reading this series is that I can envision all the characters in my head perfectly. Lu has some artwork/drawings of the characters on her website and they are exactly how I imagined them! The music theme I chose for Prodigy is Embolden by Mark Petrie. It’s the theme that would be playing if this were a movie – the part when Day and June are running through the crowd and Day makes his first public appearance amidst the chaos. The ending of Prodigy was beautifully done and will leave you relieved, sad and empty all at the same time. It’s quite the cliffhanger. I’m super excited to find out how things will come together for our beloved characters. Plus, I’m still waiting to find out why exactly Day failed the trials and how he’ll overcome his newest set of problems.

If you liked Legend, you’ll love Prodigy. It’s a fast-paced and fun read. Marie Lu is an amazing writer and I’m eager to continue June and Day’s story. Definitely one of the most exciting dystopian novels on my bookshelf yet!

Rating: 5/5

Music Theme: Embolden by Mark Petrie

Photo Credit: Photo as see on VisualizeUs

2 thoughts on “Prodigy (Legend #2) by Marie Lu

Leave a Reply

